top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharles Wolfe

All About the Data

If you've read my most recent mentor visit assessment, you know the difficulties I've been having with acquiring data. My mentor and I concur that the hardest part of bringing my final product idea to fruition will be acquiring a good data set to train my neural network with. This was the same problem I had last year. Luckily, in the world of cybersecurity, HIPPA doesn't really apply (Although when it comes to HIPPA, cybersecurity really shouldapply - but that's a different discussion). In terms of phishing emails, I've found a few good data sets with emails numbering in the thousands.  In terms of DDoS attack packet caps, I will have to gather those myself.  Of course, I wasn't really expecting to find that sort of data just publicly available. The best method I can think of to acquire those packet caps is hiring a (legitimate) DDoS testing service myself, telling it to attack my network, then capturing packet caps as they come in. That, of course, is much harder than using pre-existing phishing email databases. As such, purely because of the availability of data sets, I think I'll go with my phishing email idea for my final product. Oh well. 

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Last Update Before College

Sorry I haven't posted here in a bit. A lot of things have happened. I've finished my final product and, fortunately, it was a veritable success! If you'd like to know more about what happened between

Late-Onset

I have always thought that senioritis would never really hit me. If anything, I thought I had only experienced a short phase of sophomoritis, and that was it. But now that school has been confirmed to

Screw Python

Title says all. I was forced to use Python for last year's machine learning project because that's what the Tensorflow/Keras API was written in. Now that I have access MATLAB/Octave (courtesy of Andre

bottom of page