top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharles Wolfe

Down to my Last Idea (Maybe)

After only a week more of research over DDoS attacks and existing DDoS mitigation solutions, I can say that ML is not needed at all in DDoS mitigation. There simply isn't enough context to extrapolate from data to warrant the use of a neural network. As such, I believe I am going to have to resort to my third and last final product idea: creating an effective ML architecture to identify and screen out phishing emails. This, of course, has already been done before, but natural language processing using neural networks is a pretty complex topic. There's tons of different ways to process data from emails, and I think my main goal should be to improve upon existing architectures. This idea will certainly be a bit more math-heavy, since I will need to evaluate the efficacy of my neural network against others. 

It's a shame, though. I thought I was really on to something when I brainstormed the idea of applying ML to DDoS mitigation. I'm not sure what mentor thought of my ideas since he hasn't even completed his evaluation of my final product proposals. I need to meet with him soon to discuss a plan of action for whatever idea I end up going with - all of them will require as much time as I can spend.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Last Update Before College

Sorry I haven't posted here in a bit. A lot of things have happened. I've finished my final product and, fortunately, it was a veritable success! If you'd like to know more about what happened between

Late-Onset

I have always thought that senioritis would never really hit me. If anything, I thought I had only experienced a short phase of sophomoritis, and that was it. But now that school has been confirmed to

Screw Python

Title says all. I was forced to use Python for last year's machine learning project because that's what the Tensorflow/Keras API was written in. Now that I have access MATLAB/Octave (courtesy of Andre

bottom of page