top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharles Wolfe

Finding Success in Failure, Again

My original work is done! The pressure had really been mounting on me up until the last moment. I had actually done all of the penetration testing over the past few days before the due date, but didn't keep sufficient logs or screenshots of my actions while. In short, I was forced to retrace all of the steps I took within a very short time span. As expected, I was unable to find any security vulnerabilities on the target website. I tested for many of the most common vulnerabilities, but it seems as though any vulnerabilities they do have are hidden on a level much more obscure than an amateur pentester like me could see. Nevertheless, trying out my first bug bounty has turned out to be a fantastic learning experience. Merely reading about all these different web vulnerabilities would have never given me this great hands-on experience with actually attempting to exploit XSS, SQLi, etc. Rather than lamenting that I was unable to collect a bug bounty, I will view my original work as an important to step to my future growth as a pentester. In addition, even a pentest report that finds nothing is valuable to the company in question, since you are affirming the strength of their web application for them. 

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Last Update Before College

Sorry I haven't posted here in a bit. A lot of things have happened. I've finished my final product and, fortunately, it was a veritable success! If you'd like to know more about what happened between

Late-Onset

I have always thought that senioritis would never really hit me. If anything, I thought I had only experienced a short phase of sophomoritis, and that was it. But now that school has been confirmed to

Screw Python

Title says all. I was forced to use Python for last year's machine learning project because that's what the Tensorflow/Keras API was written in. Now that I have access MATLAB/Octave (courtesy of Andre

bottom of page