top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharles Wolfe

On The Bright Side

Well, looks like I'll be graduating online this year. Just kidding. Partially. On the bright side of all of this pandemic madness, I'll have a lot more control over how I spend my time over the next few weeks. It looks like most of the schoolwork I'm being assigned right now is just busywork. 

Over the break, I was able to make a good amount of progress on both my research and final product. Admittedly, I haven't been too diligent about updating my final product work log, so I'll have to do that either today or tomorrow. In terms of mentor visits, I haven't had much reason to meet with my mentor, as I don't have much to show him in the way of a prototype/functional code. I'm not sure if I've mentioned this, but I've decided to run with the automatic phishing email detection idea. Data normalization of DDoS packet caps will likely take a disproportionately large amount of time compared to the actual "meat" of my work, which makes my phishing email idea much more desirable in the end. My mentor has been very helpful over the break, as well. He's sent me additional sources for phishing email datasets.  In lieu of the typical workload of school, he's also sent me some very interesting InfoSec/pentesting activities to do. I think I'll have a bit of fun checking them out in between my final product work. 

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Last Update Before College

Sorry I haven't posted here in a bit. A lot of things have happened. I've finished my final product and, fortunately, it was a veritable success! If you'd like to know more about what happened between

Late-Onset

I have always thought that senioritis would never really hit me. If anything, I thought I had only experienced a short phase of sophomoritis, and that was it. But now that school has been confirmed to

Screw Python

Title says all. I was forced to use Python for last year's machine learning project because that's what the Tensorflow/Keras API was written in. Now that I have access MATLAB/Octave (courtesy of Andre

bottom of page