top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharles Wolfe

The Idea is the Hardest Part

It really is. From where I'm standing, it seems like just about everything I can think of (and everything I can't think of) has been done already. Cybersecurity is a field that is vast, growing, and relatively immature, yet my knowledge of it is far more immature. Writing a simple script or program is almost completely out of the question. What problems, if any would they solve? I certainly can't think of any that can be solved with rigid code. I can't help but return to machine learning, no matter how long I ponder my idea for a final product. Perhaps it's because I tend to focus on the new and emerging stuff. Perhaps it's because I'm already familiar with it to some degree. Regardless, any project attempting to integrate ML into a cybersecurity framework will be a necessarily gargantuan task. At the moment, the only way I can see ML being useful is with respect to threat context. The job of security analysts in any company is often to synthesize information from blogs, news, and professional experience to evaluate whether likely threats detected by their system warrant further investigation. That context is something that is oftentimes not quantifiable, and seems like the perfect problem to apply neural networks to. This is purely conceptual, though, and I really need to meet with my mentor again to discuss this new idea.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Last Update Before College

Sorry I haven't posted here in a bit. A lot of things have happened. I've finished my final product and, fortunately, it was a veritable success! If you'd like to know more about what happened between

Late-Onset

I have always thought that senioritis would never really hit me. If anything, I thought I had only experienced a short phase of sophomoritis, and that was it. But now that school has been confirmed to

Screw Python

Title says all. I was forced to use Python for last year's machine learning project because that's what the Tensorflow/Keras API was written in. Now that I have access MATLAB/Octave (courtesy of Andre

bottom of page